New druid help

EQ related discussion about Druid life in general.
Criamond

New druid help

Post by Criamond »

I'll spare you my gaming history, but I am relatively new to the druid and Everquest. I enjoy the class well enough so far but I spend an inordinate amount of time on my butt. Most of the information I've found so far doesn't really apply before level 60. I understand that we're supposed to DOT and kite a lot, but can anyone advise me of a casting order or something for a mid 20s druid, or point me in the direction of such info?
upidstupid

Re: New druid help

Post by upidstupid »

First of all, welcome to the Druid's grove. I've been lurking here for years now and I feel I'm well enough equipped to help you out. :)

If you need spells I would look at allakhazam's spell list (http://everquest.allakhazam.com/db/spel ... ion=search) or this handy google doc spreadsheet (https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... n_US#gid=0).

Casting order on druids for single target kiting is snare > debuffs > dots >= nukes, but as you've probably read there are more efficient/effective ways of soloing at higher levels. As a caster you will spend an inordinate amount of time medding unless you pick up some of the buff potions or get kei/clarity from an enchanter, which eases the pain a bit.

I personally run the healer merc for the nicer buffs, and then suspend when kiting/charming (as she will dispell charms!) but you might find that you can heal the tank merc well enough, I would give each a try.

You should have access to Charm Animal lvl 23 (http://everquest.allakhazam.com/db/spell.html?spell=260), and this is a pretty good way to get used to killing things. Just exercise caution in that charm breaks rather randomly, but if you keep things snared and keep yourself sow'd or wolf form'd, then it's relatively easy to recharm and get back into the fight.

Hopefully some of this helps ya, enjoy!
karanthal

Re: New druid help

Post by karanthal »